Halloween 2010

Pumpkins. I’ve always loved pumpkins. I love the color (though only for accents, never on clothes), the smell, the taste, the visceral experience of carving one. I’ve loved Pumpkins and via Pumpkins, Halloween my entire life.

This Halloween love affair started on October 23, 1982. I was born 8 days before the infamously scandalous holiday. The day of the cusp. The change of Libra to Scorpio. My parents would throw elaborate Halloween parties for me, where the other kids would come dressed up, and my Aunt would pretend to be a fortune-teller.

I’ve always loved the idea of dressing up one day a year, and getting a chance to be anyone or anything you can imagine. As a kid, I had the best costumes – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle (Raphael), Batman, Hans and Frans from SNL. My brother and I reveled in the show of it all. And funny enough, while we would dump out our candy and sort through the “good stuff” and “crap” – we never ate any of it. Neither of us really likes candy.

As an adult, I discovered a very different way to make Halloween fun. Mainly, dressing up, going to a party or bar and making a fool of yourself with your friends. The older I get, the more elaborate the costumes get from my peers. It’s wonderful seeing people so into something so frivolous.

And to think, I wasn’t going to do anything this year. I had reigned in my excitement. I tied it up and threw it in the closet with all those other WASP-y repressed feelings people of my background bog down. But what do you know? Inspiration comes from the strangest places, and just like that, the flood gates were blown open. I rocked the 2010 Halloween. I cut loose. I hadn’t had a night out like that with those friends in a long time. As much as it wore me out, it rejuvenated my spirit to have that much fun. Like a jump start to a battery you didn’t know needing charging.

In many ways, it was the perfect weekend with one exception. My Baylor Bears beat Texas! I passed my kidney stone! I had a chill Friday night catching up on the DVR! I cleaned my house! But the one thing that lingered…

My 28th Halloween, and I didn’t carve a pumpkin. Pumpkin carving is usually something I did with my brother. Sam fled to Manhattan, leaving me to carve pumpkins with my dog or whatever suburban friends I can wrangle into such activities. This year, my distraction led me astray. So I’ll have to make up for it with the only Holiday I love more than Halloween…

Christmas.

In the meantime, I promise not to throw away Halloween in the back of my mind again. I may not do a custom-made costume every year like last year, but I will rock the hell out of it for as long as I can.

Here’s hoping everyone had an excellent Halloween. Remember the moments of excitement of that scary movie from the couch, or the glow of the candle inside the pumpkin. Those are the ones we’ll smile about on a random afternoon.

I believe my pumpkin chocolate chip muffins are calling…

-Ry

Leave a Reply

